MOBILE USERS BEWARE!!!



reading log - 2024

2024 Book Goal: 24 | Current Books Read: 13

Hover over each line to read some short comments & thoughts!

Click on the star ratings to go to Goodreads!

JANUARY
x

The Gambler | Fyodor Dostoevsky |

My first Dostoevsky book! I read this one with my brother and I really really enjoyed it. Novella length so it was a nice quick read. Really dynamic characters & I loved watching everything unravel.

Bestiary: Poems | Donika Kelly |

First time in a while that I picked a random poetry book up. Liked the back half a lot more than the front half.

Yvain (The Knight with the Lion) | Chrétien de Troyes |

FUCKING SLAY!!!! CHRETIAN NEVER MISSES!!!! I grabbed this one at a thrift store ages ago and kept putting it off like a fool. Raffel's translation is delightful, the characters are feel so ALIVE and the writing is so flavorful and funny. Once again, de Troyes features a lot of strong female character who control the narrative while Yvain flounders. Love love love.

Yvain: Graphic Novel | M. T. Anderson |

Recently picked the graphic novel at the library and read it right after reading the full text. It honestly doesn't compare back to back. The illustrations are nice but the story cuts so many fun elements that it's a shame. I feel like it lacks nuance.

The Art and Flair of Mary Blair | John Canemaker |

Mary Blair my beloved. A great book about one of my favorite artists.


FEBRUARY
x

Moominpappa at Sea (Moomins #8) | Tove Jansson |

Holyyyyyy hell. If lonliness was a book it would be this. I knew that the later Moomin books were a lot more serious, but wow. I really loved this one. Everyone had such distinct characters and arcs. AHG. I loved this.

Moominvalley in November (Moomins #9) | Tove Jansson |

Another superb Moomin book. Was worreid that I wouldn't enjoy it as much since a lot of the focus is on characters aside from the Moomin family, but it was really, really wonderful. I loved watching each person's growth & journey of self disocvery, all while staying at the Moomin house.


MARCH
x

My Story | Marilyn Monroe |

Marilyn's unfinished autobiography was quite a read. I really loved the writing style, as devastating as the content may have been. It gives a whole new insihgt to who she was as a person- so vastly different from how media of the past & today portray her. She was deeply lonely and introspective, and had very little interest in sex or acting as a sexual icon. In fact, she often expresses frustration becuase she can't understand why so many see her as a sensual sex symbol. A very sad but good read.

Snufkin: Melody of Moominvalley Artbook | Hyper Games |

A great artbook for a great little game. Almost wish I could get a physical copy of it!


APRIL
x

Christabel | Samuel Taylor Coleridge |

This was an interesting one. I read that this poem inspired Carmilla, and I can deifnitely see the connections. I wish that It was fully finihsed in the way Coleridge wanted.

De Profundis | Oscar Wilde |

Wilde never misses!!! This is a longform letter that Wilde wrote over the course of a year while imprisoned. I didn't know what to expect going in but I highly recomend it. In the letter Wilde speaks about his depression upon initially entering prison, and subsequent decision to accept the situation for what it is and make it a part of himself. His musing son Jesus Christ were fasinating- he was not very religious and neither am I, but he made an interesting comparsion between Jesus & artists that made my think.

The Secret (Animoprhs #9) | K. A . Applegate |

Animorphs slays once again. We really started diving more into thie psychological horror of the plot & disucssing the fact that nature is not always beautiful.







2023 reading goal has been met!