3.25.24. SO I'M 26 NOW

Welcome to my new journal page! I've been thinking about staring one for awhile, and what better time to start something new than New Years?

So, I'm 26 now! Another year around the sun, and not much has changed since last year... but for some reason I do feel older. Maybe it's because when I reminded my friend a few months ago that I was going to turn 26 she started referring to me as being in my "late 20s." I firmly believe that 24-16 is all mid twenties!! But anyways, I'm trying to lean into it instead of being fearful. I'm quite hopeful!

My actual birthday was on a Friday, so I did work in the morning, but I took most of the afternoon off. Originally I wanted to work on some projects around the house, but I ended up taking myself to my favorite coffee shop, getting a snack, and just coding & chilling for a few hours. Very low key but exactly what I wanted. My partner took me to dinner after work & I gorged myself on delicious rolls, a total win.

On Saturday we started nice & early at an estate sale where I treated myself just a tad more than I should have, but hey, it was my birthday!! Walked away with a lot of vintage photos, valentines, & a milk blue glass ceramic hen on a nest that I've been wanting for literally ages. After that we met up with some close friends for brunch & went to the art museum! My theme this year was ~art~ and everyone dressed up as a famous painting. I went as The Scream (okay, a hotter scream. ALSO I wanted a bald cap so bad but the local costume shop totally failed me there) and I looked amazing. In the evening we went out for drinks, went back to my place to watch Meet The Robinsons, and we all promptly fell asleep 30 minutes in, lol. Maybe we are old. But it was lovely.

Birthdays have a tendency to make one introspective. I had an amazing last year, but at the same time I felt a little stagnant. My partner would point out all the things I've accomplished, but I don't know. I feel like I need something of a change- maybe it's time to change up my hair again & spend more time crafting my outfits. Any small change ideas would be fully appreciated. I also really think I need to work on a big personal project this year. I'm content & happy, but honestly, It's in my nature to always push for more. I'm happier when I'm working towards something. I've spent the past year trying a lot of different things, and I think it's time for me to hone in again on an idea I really enjoy. We'll see where the road takes me!

If you're still reading, thanks for sticking with me! I hope the next year is kind to both of us <3






2.29.24. FEBRUARY RECAP & REFLECTIONS

February was not my greatest month. The weather was bad & I was really, really stressed out from work for a lot of it. But there were some good things too!

highs

celebated my partner's bday in many ways! brunch with friends, a trip to a new antiques mall, fancy dinner, presents, & I attempted to make a blackberry cobbler

made a heart shaped cake with my partner to celebrate vday

journaled pretty consistantly! I also signed up for a little monthly sticker subscription that really brightened up my month & are great for decoations

finished a roll of film that I've been trying to use up

finished a big solo project at work

daytona day!! nascar is back

my partner & i played more fortnite than ever before, lol. enough that I got shredder in the tmnt event!!!

lows

lots of work stress this month

didn't draw or read as much as I wanted to

things im looking forward to in march

my birthday!! I need to pick a fun theme

seeing my family for easter

snufkin game release

warmer weather, spending more time outside

march goals

make a zine

finish reading fellowship of the ring

make a fancy cocktail at home

play a game that I own but haven't started

finish a new roll of film

make pixel art again


1.30.24. A YEAR OF OBJECT APPRECIATION

not a no-buy year or a use-it-all-up year but a secret third thing

I tend to be known as the friend who always says yes to buying things. You want someone to convince you to buy a sweater you don't need? I'm your gal. You need someone to convince you that you deserve a sweet treat at the coffee shop? I'm there.

Recently, I've been thinking a lot about how much money I spend on things I don't really need or use. Actually, a huge wake up call for me was when I was browsing my end of the year report for my credit card, and I learned that I spent $758 at my favorite used bookstore last year. HOLY SHIT, right?? Additonally, I live in a townhouse with my partner, and while it's well sized we definitely don't have infinite room. I think it would make both of us feel better if we went through everything and got rid of a bunch of stuff we don't use.

So why not do a no buy year?

Now, cutting my spending entirely is... just not realistic. For one thing, I love buying things. And when I say I love buying things, I mean a lot of my hobbies come from shopping! Estate sales, thrift stores, and used bookstores are precious to me. I love the challenge of finding something unique and interesting that I wouldn't find anywhere else, and I love the history of bits and bobs passed down over generations. I don't want to stop doing that! So I won't. I feel pretty comfortable with this aspect, becuase most of the things I tend to collect are small & easy to store (ex: postcards & old photos).

Secondly, although I love to buy things, I only do so when I have the funds. I'm not an overspender by any means (Okay yeah I spent an outrageous amount on used books last year but lets move on from that). I'm lucky that right now I'm in a financial situation that can support my habits. Becuase of this, I don't feel a great pressure to stop buying everything.

However, this year I would like to put effort into appreciating the obejects that I already have instead of immediately jumping to buy things when I don't need them. There's so much that I have that I was excited to get buy haven't really used yet!

goals & guidelines

Cut down on buying things that will only give me fleeting joy & then will be ignored (example: almost anything in the $5 section at target)

Stop thrifting clothes that I'll never wear

Only buy books that I feel like I'm going to read over the next year

Instead of buying new craft supplies utilize the things that I already have

things that i already own & want to actually use this year >

Video games like Knights of the Old Republic

A ton of solo TTRPGs that I haven't gotten around to yet

SO MANY BOOKS. But I'll make a sperate list on my reading page.

My at home screenprinting kit

Finally make a rug with the tufter my mom got me

Essentially, this year I want to be more intentional about the things that I buy & I want to be more appreciative of the things that I have :)


1.1.24. 2024 RESOLUTIONS

Welcome to my new journal page! I've been thinking about staring one for awhile, and what better time to start something new than New Years?

good things that happened in 2023

Went on a cruise with two of my favorite people

Moved to a bigger place that I love

Started learning HTMl again & exploring the indie web

Went on an amazing trip to to Italy & Germany with my family

Fell in love with pottery

Completed nanowrimo for the first time EVER and wrote a 50k word book in a month

Went to the Ren Faire & Comic Con and made costumes for both

Hit 2600 sales on my etsy shop

Made so much banana bread

Celebrated another year with my beloved

Read 43 new books & short stories

Made a lot of art that I am proud of

2024 resolutions

Journal at least once a week (in my physical book)

Wear more lipstick

Table at least once at a market or comiccon

Cut down time on tiktok & social media

Write more fiction

Make a game... I've gotten halfway through SO many attempts but I want to commit this year

Just be weirder in general